Achilles Heel or God’s Grace?

Detail_of_Achilles_thniskonAn Achilles heel is a deadly weakness in spite of overall strength, which can actually or potentially lead to downfall. While the mythological origin refers to a physical vulnerability, idiomatic references to other attributes or qualities that can lead to downfall are common. (wikipedia)

As I sit here today, I ponder and wonder.    I wonder about the pain, and ask myself how much more.   But I am learning how to cope, and realizing that I must not lean on my own understanding of this life.    Although I see my life through a different lens, and can look back and see a glimpse of the “why”,  I still do not know how this story will unfold.

For God is not a God of disorder but of peace (1 Corinthians 14:33)

The moments that seem ugly are not of God, but sometimes the bad happens for the good to come.   He knows this, and is the only one that knows the future.

Free will…  We have the power to choose how we respond to the moments that make us gasp for air.

These past four years have been quite the journey.    My Achilles Heel is seeing the ones I love in pain of any sort.    It is an item that is out of my control, and fear begins to set in.   Fear sits, it bubbles, and becomes bigger.

We received some news this week about my dad now.    I feel tired, I feel weak, and ask “why”?

He reassures…

He says breathe….

He says come and rest…..

I was watching the movie this weekend God’s Not Dead.   It is a story of a professor that tells his class that they will only pass his class if they declare God’s Dead on a piece of paper.   Intimidation.  Fear.  It sets in and bubbles, and through the nervousness, all students begin to write these words on a piece of paper.

It takes only one, for the good of many.

Then one young man just cannot write the words it is against his complete being.   He tells the professor he cannot write the words on paper as he would be denying God.   It takes one to stand up, one to keep plugging along; through one others see.

The journey is not easy, but sometimes we are meant to take it so others can come along for the ride.    

In this movie, there is a section that explains that Satan leaves unbelievers alone (physically, mentally,etc).   He does this because he doesn’t want them to come to God.  Often pain causes us to come closer.   All that comes from the Devil is evil and bad.   All good that comes into our lives is from God.   Good vs Evil.  Good or God always overcomes.   Always.

There is no question that my Achilles Heel has been attacked repeatedly these past few years. But is it really my Achilles Heel or is it God’s Grace?

God’s Good Grace.

I lift my eyes to God, and I have hope and trust good will come from these experiences.   There is no doubt that when God looked on the trials that His son experienced, there was heartache and pain.   But so much good came from the blood of Jesus.  We all are promised something beyond our wildest dreams.

God will heal, restore, and make all things good. God has promised us the greatest gift.

So today as I find out some news that does not feel the greatest, I say I trust You God to protect my family and heal their bodies of their ailments from the inside out.   I lean not on my own understanding and ask that you be my eye’s to see, my ear’s to hear, and my mouth to speak.  You are in control.  In Jesus Name Amen.

3 thoughts on “Achilles Heel or God’s Grace?

Leave a Reply

