Broken but Beautiful

imagesCARHU4RS

We all have been through different experiences, good and bad.   Some of us have scars that may be deep…. But although we may have been broken at different parts of our lives, that does not mean we can not be fixed.   

Life, it throws us curve balls, but we do have the opportunity to catch those curve balls and respond in a wonderful way by tossing the ball back.

A wonderful quote that has spoken to me lately is:

“The one thing you can’t take away from me is the way I choose to respond to what you do to me. The last of one’s freedoms is to choose one’s attitude in any given circumstance.” ― Viktor E. Frankl

 This statement is the essence of our life.   Much of this life is beyond our control, it is how we respond to each situation that makes all the difference.  

Viktor Frankl was held captive in a concentration camp, and in his book “Man’s search for meaning” details his view in a time where most of us could not comprehend.  He found a way to get through… Just as each of us can find a way.

I understand the whole concept of being broken….. At many times in my life I have felt broken and beyond repair….. At one point in my life, I felt like I was in a pit of darkness – beyond recovery.

Thankfully, God brought a man into my life that loved me for me and he was so pure and good.   I tried to push him away in the first few years of our relationship, but he stuck it through and 17 years later we are still together.   I thank God every day for His hand in my life this way.

Some of the things I have learnt through the process of healing myself, involve trying to figure out who I am (first and foremost).

Realizing that I am unconditionally loved by God, and that I was made perfect in His eyes.   This was very hard for me to do.  Honestly, I didn’t completely love myself until maybe 3 years ago.   There were pieces of myself that I loved, but other pieces I would look to others for validation.

External validation is instant gratification and is not lasting.   I had to come to realize that although there are things that others may not like about me, that I was made perfectly in God’s eyes.  Some of these characteristics include: my outspoken nature, my personalization of every relationship, and the ability to want to control the things around me.

I started fostering love in myself, and would let the “good in” and the “bad out”.    By this, I mean that I would only let the good comments in, and positive self-talk and start getting rid of the lies that were inhibiting me to fully being myself and loving myself inside out.   

The last aspect of my characteristics I had to let go, was the control.    Realizing that I could not control what was happening in this life, the only thing I had control over was my response.   The response I began to choose was to turn the cheek, to love others fully, to open myself to relationships without fear of getting hurt.   

The wonderful thing that began to happen once I incorporated these characteristics was that I felt physically that the tension in my shoulders began to be relieved…..

 

 “We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired of life itself … But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead.” 2 Corinthians 1:8b, 9b (NIV)

We have been hurt in our lives in some way…. And perhaps at these times we have pushed our feelings deep down.  We have to let these feelings go…. Whether it is through forgiveness of self or others in order to feel relief.

Forgiveness is sometimes very hard to do, but the more we keep stuffed in, the more we inhibit ourselves from becoming all that God wants for us.  

Through forgiveness we release the broken….. We are broken, but beautifully made.  So I ask you today, are there areas in your life where you bottled up or stuffed emotions?  Do you love yourself?  Take the first step in feeling whole again, by letting go…..

We are beautiful in His eyes.

After I wrote this I googled broken but beautiful and came across this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CNnHmBiH40

Looks like a wonderful inspired artist – and reminds me of God’s love for us.

 

~Vanessa

 

6 thoughts on “Broken but Beautiful

  1. What a beautiful word for today! And thank you for sharing Liesl’s video. She was only 15 when she wrote this song, inspired by God as she was sitting in her room staring at a glass jar of potpourrie. The message He gave was clear. The rose, is beautiful and fragile, but through life’s difficulties becomes crushed and dried out. But in this process the rose gives off fragrance and is beautiful. I’m in the process of trying to upload her music onto i-tunes. I’ll let you have the link as soon as I can.
    Blessings
    Natalie (mom) – Western Cape George, South Africa

    • Natalie, thank-you so much for coming to my site!! We are all the way across the world from one another yet we found each other through your daughters beautiful music. I live in Canada. Looking forward to the music on ITunes – I will share – she has a wonderful wonderful gift. Blessings to you beautiful ladies! Vanessa

Leave a Reply

