Just Keeping Swimming, Just Keep Swimming

Just keep swimming, just keep swimming….This statement has become my mantra for the past two years.   Have you ever felt so overwhelmed that you can not take it anymore?   Have you felt like you could hardly breathe?  Have you experienced the moments that take our breath away and then you feel like the water is coming up over your head?

I have felt this way too.  We are human.   But it is how we respond to these moments that makes all the difference.   We have two paths to take; path “A” leads to positive thoughts of affirmation, really believing that we can pull through and path “B” leads to feelings of helplessness, feeling like we can not breathe or hold on.   We all have the power to direct our thoughts to the positive, but how can we do this?

The Lou Tice Institute writes: “When you find yourself overcome with feelings of fear, helplessness, doom and gloom, you can put the brakes on these feelings by gently but firmly choosing to shift the focus of the thoughts that are running through your mind.

Your feelings are a direct result of the thoughts you think, and setting aside some time every morning and evening for positive visualization, affirmation, or guided meditation is a highly effective way of getting these thoughts back under your control once again.”

My highly “guided” mediation is reliance on God.  Believe me, I would say it has been a struggle over the years to realize I am not in control.  But over the past two years God has given me a strong message.   That message is to trust fully and completely in Him.   These past two years have ranged from me nearly losing my life, to seeing my parents ill, my father in law having a 7 bypass surgery and just recently in the hospital now on going for an infection that has resulted in hip replacement surgery for a second time, to my mother going through a major surgery that nearly took her life, and now having to deal with a new way of living.   Through all of this, God has asked me to come to Him.  I came to Him in fear, I came to  him through the struggles and always see the silver lining that He has revealed to me.

Everyone has a different approach to dealing with pain, struggle, and life.  But I have found that strength comes from a Source far greater than us.   It is learning to rely on that Source that makes all the difference.

Isaiah 40: 28-31

Do you not know?
Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
and his understanding no one can fathom.
29 He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.
30 Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;
31 but those who hope in the Lord
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.

To “soar on wings like eagles” what an amazing statement.  To fly above and to have the strength and majesty to get through it all!  We all have this inside of us, take a leap of faith and trust in “Something” bigger, and grander than yourself.  It does not  matter how big or small your problem is, there is always a way.  It is finding the “way” that makes all the difference.  When you are swimming, keep swimming and keep your head above water.   Grab a surf board and surf the waves!  Yes, sometimes you will fall, but you have the strength to get up again.   And remember, there is our Divine and others to help us climb back up again.

My Prayer of Trust

Thank-you to my Father who is always watching out for me.  With you I have all that I need. 

Lord God these past two years have been difficult but you have taught me to come to you and present my requests or fears.

You want me to trust in you, to talk to you, to present my worries and fears, my joys and moments that take my breath away.

I give thanks to You.  You will lift me up when I fall down, You will give me courage and strength when I need it.

You Lord will give me a voice that is humbled and strong.

I trust in You my Lord, my Father. 

Thank-you for hearing me, and taking care of me.  Thank-you for teaching me how to walk, how to talk and

how to TRUST.

Yes Lord, I will just keep swimming, just keep swimming…

Leave a Reply

